Leapin’ Lizards

IMG_3528

The lizards here in the school compound are so different from anything I’ve ever seen before my fascination with them is making me and my son follow them around. They are huge, colorful, and fast. They sometimes remind me of the velociraptors from “Jurassic Park” and make me shudder.

IMG_3527

I’ve always been afraid of lizards, and I’m referring to the brown geckos that are common in the Philippines and Thailand. Part of the reason is my brother used to show me  their wiggling dismembered tail. The other reason is they love to go after the flying insects that are attracted to ceiling lights, then have the bad habit of falling off the ceiling and landing on me while I’m asleep. Luckily for us the Nigerian lizards usually run away (and they are fast) from humans whenever we get too close.

Leave a Reply

