Reusing Plastic Shopping Bags

A neat trick I picked up while visiting the Philippines years ago is this way of folding plastic bags so they don’t take up so much space. This was particularly useful and enabled me to put several in our diaper bag. I still keep a few in my purse, the car, and in my son’s first aid pouch until now.

We have not eliminated plastic grocery bags completely even if we keep a carton box and reusable shopping bags in the car. After all, we need these for trash bins. Sometimes we just forget and so the pile of plastic bags grows. I love that my friends in Nigeria gave me this cute plastic bag holder, which now decorates the kitchen, with her sister – the baguette bread holder. She gets cuter as I fill her with neatly folded plastic bags. Before I got this doll, we simply kept the bags in a shoebox and in one of the kitchen drawers.

2013-08-22 14.35.22-1

Leave a Reply

