Chinese Night Sans Noodles

Just had Chinese-themed dinner with steamed chicken with ginger sauce, and sesame garlic green beans. The best green beans are still the ones in Chinese restaurants, but I’m having a bit of fun trying to make it as good. Sometimes I brown the garlic so they are toasty and crunchy. I used to mince them, but now I slice them thin. If you love garlic like we do, try putting them in oil first, then when they start to bubble turn off the heat and let it infuse the oil for 30 minutes. Another site suggests that if you want a stronger garlic flavor add these at the end of the recipe.

I also used to blanche the green beans for 1-2 minutes, so they’re already well cooked before stir frying with garlic (and the garlic is not overcooked). But steaming vegetables is another option.

Call me biased, but bamboo steamers are the best! I’ve tried the stainless, silicon, and wire kinds of course. The best thing about bamboo steamers is they come in layers so you can steam two or more dishes at a time. So I’m going to start looking up more dimsum recipes, cause I really miss those.

One of the things I was thrilled to have again when our shipment came was the bamboo steamer I inherited from a teacher in Thailand. I used it mainly to make leche flan (a.k.a. milk flan or creme caramel). My husband says my version is the best (12 egg yolks!).

RECIPES:

2 thoughts on “Chinese Night Sans Noodles

Leave a Reply

