Baking

Until we came to Spokane I only knew how to bake one thing, which was banana bread. The holiday season and this cold weather gave me two good reasons to learn new recipes. My first attempts were not exactly successful, but I’m still pleased enough that I will do these two again:

Potato Scones

My biggest mistake was to ignore the “self-raising flour” part of the ingredients. So the scones looked more like cookies. But they tasted good, especially after I added more shredded cheese.

INGREDIENTS

  • 250 g floury potatoes, unpeeled
  • 30 g butter, softened (about 2 tbsps)
  • 2 tsp caster sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 3/4 cup milk or cream
  • 2 1/2 cups self-raising flour
  • 3 Tbsp Parmesan cheese

Bake at 415 for 10-12 minutes

Reference: Classic Essential Potatoes, by Ann Wilson

Christmas Tree Cinnamon Bread

This one I actually got from another blog. Her photos made it look fun to make. It’s not as complicated as it looks, but it sure took time waiting for the dough to rise and my arms got a good workout kneading it. Next time I will use our Ninja blender, which has a special “blade” for dough.

I meant it for the staff at my son’s school and only did half the amount to make two Christmas trees. But when my husband saw me spreading the cinnamon mixture he started to pout, literally. So we ate one tree that night — the one with pecans — it tasted so darn good it disappeared quickly. And I used berry cereal instead of chocolates for the ornaments.

Thanks Novice Gardener!

2 thoughts on “Baking

    • it was, especially the decorating and eating part! But I messed up and left the dough for 2 hours instead of one. It got very rubbery and hard to knead. I want to try this again tomorrow with our Ninja, because we have never used it for dough before.

Leave a Reply

