3 Kinds of Breakfast … or Snack

I continue to monitor what I can eat that’s 200 calories or less. Doing so allows me to eat every three hours, thereby improving my metabolism. You can visually follow my efforts thru Instagram, which I’m having some trouble updating this morning.

2013-12-19 11.14.49

Buttermilk toast 100cal, 2 Tbsp cheddar and monterey jack 100cal

This is part of my son’s breakfast: it’s a combination of white bread, shredded cheese, and garlic – and it’s 200 calories. Of course he gets two slices plus fruits and chocolate milk to go with it.

And this is my breakfast and it’s also slightly under 200 calories: multi-grain toast with two hard boiled egg whites and half egg yolk. I had it with the usual mug of green tea and a teaspoon of honey. It is more filling than the white bread toast with peanut butter, with about the same amount of calories and less protein. The key is a hard boiled egg white is only 17 calories with 3 grams of protein, while a hard boiled egg with egg yolk is 70 calories with 6 grams protein.

White Bread Toast & Peanut Butter = 185 cal=

White Bread Toast & Peanut Butter = 185 cal=

Leave a Reply

